Poetry: “The End of Summer”

The end of Summer.

They love to play and laugh and sing
the life of Summer’s song,
but I know the winds began to change
and green shows cold’s not long.

My children don’t know Winter watches
them kicking balls and throwing things.
Autumn’s turn is soon to come
unaware the pain it brings.

The end of play.

Their backs in grass and looking up
a blue sky world through trees
but the shade begins to dissipate,
the leaves begin to flee.

I look to my son who grows daily
in stature and endeavor.
I pray for him that summer stays
in his heart forever.

The end of innocence.



This one is a little clear in terms of the direction I took it: end of Summer, end of innocence. It was hard to convey that, and I hope it worked. I wanted to use alliteration so I made sure several instances were used.

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

You may also like some of my other work:

Worldbuilding: Religion and Philosophy

Poetry: “Life in a Puddle”

Poetry: Five Haiku, “Recalling Our Time Together”

Poetry: “Rusted Theme Park from My Childhood”

Poetry: “Elfland”

Make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram