Poetry: “Lines in the Sand”

On the beach as a child my brother tested me
He was younger, and dumber, but wanted to mock me
So he drew a line with his toe and folded his arms in a show
And said “You cross this line and I’ll kick your knee!”

As the oldest of four kids I couldn’t take that
He was frowning, and flushing, but was being a little brat
So I crossed the line and came to find
Another line drawn in front of that

Children’s laughter, you love to hear
Among the wave’s song and cheer

A cartoon like Looney Tunes, we imitated on that beach
Running past the lines, as he drew them each
I kept laughing, and he kept drawing, as we both kept running
And my brother laughed about the game of lines I breached

The play was fun and life moved on
We packed our things to leave the sea
Returning to the car, he turned from me
The water painted over the lines we’d see

At least the memory remains
Of running on sand with ocean waves


My newest poetry book is now available!

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

My poetry has been gaining some attention online:

You may like some of my other posts about writing:

Also if you like this review, check out my other reviews:

Also make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

2 thoughts on “Poetry: “Lines in the Sand”

  1. Pingback: Do You Like Fantasy and Want to Read the Classics? | Frank Ormond

  2. Pingback: How to Write a Character’s Value Proposition | Frank Ormond

Leave a comment