Poetry: “When Red Ran About”

Cataclysm by Hans Hofmann, 1945

I painted a room
with paint left in the basement, like a tomb.
I left it to dry in my home
but the colors tried to go and roam.

The red grabbed my hand
and my wife thought I bled
but I told her I was fine
and the red wasn’t mine.

We chased it to the backyard
where it dropped into a hole.
I covered it with dirt and then
left it to grow.

A little later it came again
the red grew petals on a flower.
I tried to cut it and throw it, but then
it was back within the hour.

You can try to bury it in gloom
beauty will find a way to bloom.


Inspired by the miserable time I had painting a deck. It ended up being beautiful.

My newest poetry book is now available!

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

My poetry has been gaining some attention online:

You may like some of my other posts about writing:

Also if you like this review, check out my other reviews:

Also make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

Leave a comment