Poetry: “The Christmas Star”

One christmas night when I was young
we looked up to the sky to see
a Christmas star, all glowing bright,
giving warmth to all who see.

“It’s just a star,” my friends all said
mocking me the following year
but life is like a snow-blown sled
filled with fun and some cold cheer.

I grew up soon and had children
and told them of the Christmas star
wonder’s fun spread there again
and they asked to see it from afar.

I stayed inside while they stepped out
to look up in that sky again
but I heard a sound they made about
happy cheeps like winter hens.

I stepped outside and looked up high
the star was back for all to see
my mind drifted to that childhood sky
but my kids all smiled up at me.


My newest poetry book is now available!

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

My poetry has been gaining some attention online:

You may like some of my other posts about writing:

Also if you like this review, check out my other reviews:

Also make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

Leave a comment