Poetry: “Don’t Kill the Bug”

My son is scared of ants,
and he hates them with a fury.
He found one crawling by the door
and ran over in a hurry.

He begged me, “Daddy squish it!”
But I frowned and asked him why.
He said the bug was gross and such
but I said it shouldn’t die.

I took a broom and swept the room,
the bug aboard the pan.
Out in the sun I tapped the dust
and the bug practically ran.

Later on my son was gone
I came by to check his fun.
He was down beside the door
by an ant in the midday sun.

I asked him, “What is it?”
He looked at me from the room,
“don’t kill the bug.”
And he left to grab the broom.


My newest poetry book is now available!

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

My poetry has been gaining some attention online:

You may like some of my other posts about writing:

Also if you like this review, check out my other reviews:

Also make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

Leave a comment