Light Novel Review: The World’s Strongest Rearguard by Towa

I usually hold off on reviews of light novels until I hit further along in the series. In this case, I read up to volume 3 so I’m comfortable reviewing it. The World’s Strongest Rearguard” by Towa is a series about a man named Arihito Atobe who was involved in a bus crash. He was sitting next to his manager, and several others on the bus, who all were reincarnated into another world. The world Arihito ended up in was a typical fantasy setting with a series of towns in a sort of wheel shape, where each region corresponds to the strength of the inhabitants.

As with any of these types of light novels, there’s a guild that administers testing and allows for a class to be selected. Arihito ends up with a… weird job. The words don’t translate and seemingly end up as some kind of support class similar to “rearguard”, where if he’s behind his party he can buff them.

As the story goes on, Arihito meets party members (all girls) and grows as a person. He becomes the leader of his party and soon becomes well known as a skilled Seeker, an adventurer. It falls into all the traps that other light novels fall into: harem settings, female character archetypes, etc. Ultimately what separates this one is the ability of the main character. He’s over powered, sure, but his power allows him to support his party. He’s never the tip of the spear.

I enjoyed the series a lot, and recommend picking up volume 1 to give it a shot. You may like it if you liked other simplistic adventurer stories.


My newest poetry book is now available!

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

My poetry has been gaining some attention online:

You may like some of my other posts about writing:

Also if you like this review, check out my other reviews:

Also make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

Leave a comment