Poetry: “Small Town Church”

Hallowed words echo from memories on dusted wood
Peaceful lives pass quickly, faster than the building stood
An empty hall by human eyes
Burdens on the staff baptized
Members buried in graves
By white wooden staves

Memories warm in now cold halls
The pastor, wrinkled and gray, prays away the fall
Sisyphean by men’s hearts
His wife keeps praying for her part
As her husband devotes
To keep Theseus’ boat afloat

New ears come to hear
New eyes to baptized
Light that shines from stained glass
Light that always lasts

But the pastor is buried in the same land
He placed his members by hand

But the church continues
The words continue


My newest poetry book is now available!

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

My poetry has been gaining some attention online:

You may like some of my other posts about writing:

Also make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

Leave a comment