October Reading List/Recommendations – 2023

It’s officially October, which means we get to dig into the horrible, the frightening, and even just the grotesquely interesting. I have here a list of books or stories I thoughts sounded interesting and you might also enjoy. I have read most of them before, but they still delight me to this day.

The Report of Mr. Charles Aalmers by Matthew Pungitore

My friend Matt released this book back in 2021 and it’s become one of my favorites in its genre. Matt wrote several stories all with his unique brand of weird tales. If you like creepy stories, the weird tales kind, then this is a perfect match for you. Given the holiday, you can’t go wrong picking it up. You can find this book on Amazon, and there’s still time before Halloween!

English Victorian Poetry ed. Paul Negri

This is a great collection of poetry from the time period, and several of the poems have a perfect feel for the month of October. I’ll admit some of my own poems ripped off the feel of some of these, but there’s nothing like the originals. This collection is small and can be found affordably.

Creep, Shadow! by A. Merritt

I first read this book as a text file on the computer. Sounds odd, but it gripped me regardless of tangible pages. To be honest, Merritt may be one of my favorite authors period, as evidenced by my prior reviews of his work. While I could have recommended The Moon Pool here, I think Creep, Shadow! has its own brand of October feel to it.

Small Worlds by Misha Burnett

You might recognize that name. That’s right, Misha has become well known for the Five Pillars of Pulp Revival Stories in recent days (partially because of my blog post exploding on Google for some reason). Misha is a great author, and I’ve read a lot of his work over the years. Small Worlds looks to be no exception, and I know it’s on my reading list this year, and I think it should be on yours. The book is available on Amazon.


Well, there’s my list for now.

I show some true crime on the image above, but I won’t be recommending them, really. It takes a specific kind of person to not get impacted by that, and I supposed I’m one of those types. I wouldn’t want to make someone bring that negativity into their life if they don’t need to.

Anyways, enjoy the upcoming holidays!

– Frank

Leave a comment