Poetry: “Death Came for Him One Day”

Death came for him one day
seeking to carry him away
but when Death looked inside of his house
the man scurried away like a mouse

He ran then swiftly
and Death walked on stiffly
all his life Death was kept at bay
and he was happy for decades until one day

Another person he met while outside
needed help to keep up their stride
he felt bad for them, and lifted ’em onto his back
but that was when Death came to attack

Death kicked in the door and ran in, all black
and the man couldn’t flee due to weight on his back
“It’s not fair,” he frowned. “They’re weighing me down!”

Death laughed, “My friend, they’re always behind you.
Age will grab on even if I can’t find you.”


I figured a good way to kick of October is with another nice spooky poem…

My newest poetry book is now available!

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

Also make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

Leave a comment