Poetry: “Alexandria”

words to read
standing tall
soldiers of knowledge in formation
silent, all

how great the collection!

rows of paper, rows of words
rows of authors’ names
piles of loose paper herds
life through art is gained

how great the knowledge!

political buildings burned
fights elsewhere marched in
the building’s soul is turned
to a piece in the game within

how dangerous the flame!

the only works of forgotten masters
dust bound letters not to send
the collection was vast and unending
but on fire in the end

how great the mourning!


This poem is based on the burning of the library of Alexandria. It is by no means related to social unrest or modern violence. It’s basically just because I saw the painting above and thought it would make a good subject for a poem.

Again, my poem “Life in a Puddle” has received some attention.
Please read it and let me know what you think!

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

You may also like some of my other work:

Worldbuilding: Religion and Philosophy

How to Tell if Your Writing is Improving

Poetry: “Can You Fix It?”

Poetry: “Rusted Theme Park from My Childhood”

Poetry: “Elfland”

Make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram

2 thoughts on “Poetry: “Alexandria”

  1. Pingback: The Endless Resurrections of Alexandria (A Fantasia) |

  2. Pingback: Poetry: “Never Perfect” | Frank Ormond

Leave a comment