Poetry: “The House I Used to Live In”

White sand beaches packed down by cars.
My initials carved in rough tree bark.
Kid hand prints and names in cement.
Childhood bike ride ’til the sky was dark.

I left my driftwood roots
for hills beside a river.
Freshwater swimming instead of salt
where we would deliver.

I absolutely love my family now
but still drift to childhood’s loves.

My children have their garden now
their own bikes, books to read,
an aloof cat, conifer trees,
their own lives to help them lead.

Even now I recall the sea
and miss the land I called my home
but I’d rather all my children have
a place to call their own.

I’d rather live for my children now
than the child I once was.


My recent poem “Life in a Puddle” has received a ton of attention. Please read it and let me know what you think!

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

You may also like some of my other work:

Worldbuilding: Religion and Philosophy

How to Tell if Your Writing is Improving

Poetry: Five Haiku, “Recalling Our Time Together”

Poetry: “Rusted Theme Park from My Childhood”

Poetry: “Elfland”

Make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram




4 thoughts on “Poetry: “The House I Used to Live In”

  1. Pingback: Don’t Force a Pantser to be a Plotter | Frank Ormond

  2. Pingback: Should Writing Be Art or Entertainment? (Or: Why This Discussion Goes Nowhere) | Frank Ormond

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Gideon Ira: Knight of the Blood Cross by Adam Lane Smith | Frank Ormond

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Giants by Vaughn Heppner | Frank Ormond

Leave a comment