Story Review: The Dark Eidolon by Clark Ashton Smith

This volume contains the story The Dark Eidolon

Originally published in 1935, this is an old story, but a perfect example of the quality of dark fantasy in sword & sorcery.

This story is hard to describe, since the names in it are difficult to properly pronounce. Namirrha is a necromancer who holds a grudge against King Zotulla. Apparently, years ago, Zotulla ran him over with his horses. In revenge, Namirrha planned to torture and murder Zotulla at a party he would host.

However, Namirrha originally followed one god, but upon needing more power, followed another god instead. As Namirrha ironically punished Zotulla by using the new god’s giant horses to trample the city, he went too far in rejecting his old god. This angered that god, who in the midst of the revenge plot by Namirrha, granted Zotulla the power to end the necromancer just before he also died. It’s a bittersweet ending, but powerful.

The story is beautifully written, well plotted, and constructed with a craftsman’s lens. I would say it’s a great example of the pinnacle of fantasy writing in that time period.

This was my first foray into Clark Ashton Smith, and honestly isn’t my last. I’ve read other stories by him after I read this one, but it’s still one of my favorite short stories of all time.

I advise anyone interested in fantasy, especially dark fantasy, to read this story. It’s available online for free in the public domain, and it’s a quick read. EXTREMELY worth your time.


If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

You may like some of my other reviews:

Story Review: Black Amazon of Mars by Leigh Brackett

Book Review: The Ship of Ishtar by A. Merritt

Book Review: The Dragon Masters by Jack Vance

Book Review: Stormbringer by Michael Moorcock

You may also like some of my other work:

Writing with Inspiration

How to Tell if Your Writing is Improving

Poetry: “Rusted Theme Park from My Childhood”

Make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

3 thoughts on “Story Review: The Dark Eidolon by Clark Ashton Smith

  1. Pingback: What is Weird Fiction? | Frank Ormond

  2. Pingback: Story Review: The Call of Cthulhu by H. P. Lovecraft | Frank Ormond

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Fiendilkfjeld Castle by Matthew Pungitore | Frank Ormond

Leave a comment