Poetry: Song of the Skeleton

A skeleton’s song is assumed to be
a specific kind of melody
but it wasn’t percussion using its bones
or a violin song with a leg as a bow

A skeleton’s song is a low calming tune
something so low everyone would assume
it’s a spot of cool wind on an autumn day
but not even ghosts would want to stay

A skeleton’s song is a song of grief
forgotten to time and built of belief
in a life after ours they have yet to achieve
while they wait their time patiently singing of peace

The skeleton’s song is a song like a breeze
Sung without words but not sung with ease
give it a listen on this moon-filled night
and you might hear me sing it just out of your sight


Happy Halloween! I hope you like this poem.

My newest poetry book is now available!

If you like my work consider supporting me with a donation! http://www.paypal.me/FrankOrmond

Also make sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

Leave a comment